To applicants

Regulations for the GOOD DESIGN AWARD 2023

All applicants are required to confirm the regulations before application. Please refer to the application procedures for specific instructions related to the application.

Principal Implementation Regulations
Learn more
Application Regulations
Learn more
Judgment Regulations
Learn more
GOOD DESIGN EXHIBITION Implementation Regulations
Learn more
G Mark Usage Regulations
Learn more

Organizer and supporters


Japan Institute of Design Promotion (JDP)


Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry / The Small and Medium Enterprise Agency / Tokyo Metropolitan Government / The Japan Chamber of Commerce and Industry / Japan External Trade Organization (JETRO) / ASEAN Promotion Centre on Trade, Investment and Tourism / Nihon Keizai Shimbun / NHK / World Design Organization

Types of Awards

GOOD DESIGN AWARD is presented to entries recognized as excellent designs from among all entries, and then 100 winners with superior designs are chosen as GOOD DESIGN BEST100.
Next, the Judging Committee chooses winners of the GOOD DESIGN GOLD AWARD and GOOD FOCUS AWARD as well as finalists for the GOOD DESIGN GRAND AWARD from the GOOD DESIGN BEST100.
The winner of the GOOD DESIGN GRAND AWARD is chosen from the finalists for that award voting by the jury members, winners, and others.

Types of Awards

Good Design Award is operated by Japan Institute of Design Promotion.